Kickstarter?

All off-topic discussions end up here.
polaris
Supporter
Supporter

Kickstarter?

Postby polaris » Sun May 17, 2015 4:33 pm

I'm pretty new to kickstarter, so I was wondering whether the Starfall Tactics kickstarter project is doing well or is it quite slow? I feel like this game should already have it's target, is it just me being impatient?

It feels like it's not getting the recognition it deserves :(

dream3r
Supporter
Supporter

Re: Kickstarter?

Postby dream3r » Sun May 17, 2015 7:33 pm

It's going quite slow. Now I trust the team at Snow Forge but as I've said 50 billion times, you need to release updates every (or every other) day during your campaign. Each time you release an update you need to email that update to some extent to every journalist you can. The big guys at Kotaku, RPS, IGN, etc. They receive thousands of emails every day. Even if people at those sites would love StarFall Tactics, if they never see the email they won't be able to discover and talk about it. So that's why you send them an email every time you have a big update to share. Something with enough content that it may grab their attention should they open the email.

Perhaps the team has some genius plan I don't know about, and congrats if they do, but if this had been any other Kickstarter and I hadn't fallen in love with the idea before... I would have cancelled my pledge because as far as I'm concerned after backing a lot of projects is that if you can't keep the content rolling, be you a youtuber, artist, or game developer, the chances of you quitting early is much higher.

That is what scares me more than anything. I could care less if Kotaku never talked about SFT, but if the team slows down and gives me the chance to stop and think...I may very well consider if the project is worth backing.