WIP Concept Art

Take a sneak peak at what we've been doing lately.
dvan
Art Director
Art Director

WIP Concept Art

Postby dvan » Wed Jul 22, 2015 8:07 am

There's been a bit of a radio silence on our end due to a large portion of the studio going on a short vacation, but now we're back in full swing! Woo-hoo! Alpha release here we come!

We figured we could be a little bit more open about our development process, since many of you were kind enough to support us with your hard-earned money and would probably like to see your dollars/euros/rubles at work. And it's just a lot more fun to share new stuff as you go and not hide it away for months. I figured I'll break the ice and just start a topic for all the new (and non-spoilery) content I've been doing recently. I'm a 2D artist/designer guy, so it will mostly be concept art and GUI. Other devs should join soon enough.

Right now I'm chipping away at the new Eclipse mothership model. It's one hell of a thing. 2 km wide and 3 high. Detailing it will be the death of me. Thank god for symmetry! Still needs a name though. I've been using references to famous gemstones for naming Eclipse vessels, but I don't think there is a diamond big enough for this bad boy. Or girl. Ships are usually female, right?
mothership3.png
mothership3.png (444.06 KiB) Viewed 3824 times
mothership.png
mothership.png (367.06 KiB) Viewed 3824 times
Bonus screenshot: our initial pool of candidates!
I'm still partial to the jellyfish one.
mothership2.png
mothership2.png (410.35 KiB) Viewed 3824 times

dvan
Art Director
Art Director

Re: WIP Concept Art

Postby dvan » Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:30 am

Did a few blueprint card backgrounds. Chances are absolutely zero of these will make it into the final game, but at least we somewhat figured out how we want them to look in the future. I wish we could make them as pretty and compact as Hearthstone cards, but with how much info we need to display on them, that's probably not happening.
blueprints_TEST.png